From the book lists at Adware Report:

All information current as of 22:59:22 Pacific Time, Monday, 21 March 2005.

Goosehead Guide to Life

   by Ashley Power

  Paperback:
    Volo
    01 August, 2001

   US$14.99   

   Usually ships in 24 hours

Click the button below to . . .

    
(which will add the book to your Amazon U.S.A. "Shopping Cart")

. . . or use your browser's Back button to return to the search-list page.

Editorial description(s):

From Publishers Weekly
In GooseHead Guide to Life, the 16-year-old CEO of GooseHead.com, Ashley Power, offers cyberfans everything they need to know to build their own Web page and start a business. But first, readers are treated to "All About Ashley" and "The World According to Ashley" sections, detailing the origin of Goosehead.com in the first, and tips on love, as well as physical and mental health in the latter.



Copyright 2001 Cahners Business Information, Inc.



People Magazine, July 31, 2000
"Power created a gig that made her more popular than any head cheerleader: the online teen hangout Goosehead.com..."


Richard Dreyfuss, New York Times article June 8, 2000


About the Author
Ashley Power has been featured in The New York Times, The Los Angeles Times, Vanity Fair, People Magazine, and Entertainment Weekly. She is fast becoming the new face - and voice - of generation Y. She lives in Los Angeles, CA.


Book Description
Ashley Power is a fifteen-year-old CEO of the successful teen Web site company, Goosehead.com, the number-one teen entertainment network. Ashley tells all in this candid view of her life on and offline. In this book, Ashley reveals how she hatched her top Web site and how it has changed her life. She talks about her experiences growing up, and offers her own observations on issues teens are grappling with today.





Reader review(s):

Worth a skim, but only for the entertainment value of a fad, August 23, 2001
After skimming through the content, I would say that this book (and its web site) are good things for Ashley and her groupies to keep busy with. But honestly, I have a hard time seeing how she is doing anything of eternal value. As it is, this is a passing fad where we've chosen to celebrate a teen who can put a commercialized web site together instead of recognizing the students in our world who are making lasting impacts through overseas and local service projects in their communities. If Ashley gets the spotlight simply because Sprite.com is a sponsor, I have to wonder what we are really encouraging - a meaningless chase after the wind? Or perhaps the better question is what are we discouraging? Give me a teen who's making a selfless impact instead so they might feel encouraged to keep on keeping on. Ashley Power, meanwhile, can have Levis Jeans.

the book only a teenage girl could write, August 11, 2001
having read the reviews of ashley's site and related press for the last few years - and even having suffered through some outrageous falsehoods- i find it refreshing for ashley to tell her side of the story. this is the real ashley power. i know her world is shaped by all of the attention and publicity but somehow she still remains grounded (well as grounded as a teenage girl can get) and true to herself. teenage readers will be inspired to shoot for the moon - adult/parents will find themselves both impressed at her success and perplexed as to whether or not a teenager really needs all that pressure. who knows? all i can say is 'great job ash!'

Goosehead more than teen fodder!, August 8, 2001
After reading this book I had new found hope for the author, Ashley Power. All the press on this girl may lead one to believe that a lot of what she's created was for self promotion. This book sets the record straight, from her point of view. It also allows Miss Power the ability to compare elements within her life, too what most teenagers go through on a daily basis. She's pretty down to earth and you can see where this book would be helpful to any teenager struggling with their own identiy in the teenage kingdom and yet maintain a relationship with their family also, which seems to be a high wire act Miss Power and her family have overcome. But not without a few learning experiences. Interesting reading for teens and parents.

Good For Her!, August 17, 2001
I read this book, and I'll make this short and sweet. I liked it. It was fun. It's safe to say that this is a book for teens that they'll enjoy. One last thing, I happened to read another review that said this girl was all about self promotion. Well, let me just point out Madonna as a starting point and say that the rest sounds like pure jealousy to me. Proxy or no proxy.

I give props to any teenager who is accomplishing something positive.

a message from me, October 21, 2003
dear ashley and other viewers.. i am not the skinneyest person on earth or anything but i would like to say that i am very proud of you for what you have overcome and went through to get out to other kids. i am olny 13 and i have went through some tough times with kids picking on me saying that i am fat.i have a lot of friends ya know its not like i am a nerd or a looser not that there is nything wrong with that.And i would like to send a shout out to the rest of the world .. that you people do not need to be worried about what people think about you unless it is like in a good way.. and if you are one of those people that get picked on just email me and i bet we will have a lot in common my email adress is (shortydusz1990@msn.com)and make sure that under sub you put that you are responding from ashleypower.com or i wont anwser it... so pease out

Awesome, October 30, 2001
Okay this books is tottally awesome. She talks about her past, how she could not fit in, how she started her website goosehead.com. Life as a CEO, this girl talks about friends, crushes, guys, etc... Its pretty good, she seems like a girl that has a "good head on her shoulders." Really nice and decent.

She doesn't sound stuck-up, she just tells it how it is. She even talks about web design on her book, gosh, what doesn't she do? Anyways this is a great book, and the people that gave her bad reviews, well they need to get over themselves.


{end of page}

(Page code from the SEO Tools, Toys, and Packages site)